Will an MBA get me what I want (for a career changer?)

Let's talk about...whatever!
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
I'm 30 years old and I have been working in the insurance industry for about 8 years now. I have a B.A in math. My GPA back in 2005 was about a 2.6 My current role is more on the customer service, claims side. My highest position is as a supervisor, managing about 6 to 8 people.

I'm currently taking the year off abroad right now seeking new opportunities and I have a lot of times on my hand right now thinking how I want to pursue my development for the rest of my life, once I go back to the U.S

I have always wondered about getting out of the industry, and imagining myself taking on a higher paying, higher level, more relevant position. More importantly, I want to have a technical 'skill.' Now that I am abroad, I realize that my skills aren't as nearly as marketable. Sure, I have a B.A in math, but I dont use my mathematics skills. I have 8 years of business experience, and am in a leadership role, and have had my hands on in projects, people development, but these are soft skills that's not as highly regarded where I am and not as easily transferable to another company for a higher level role. My exposure hasn't been great enough, so my only choice to be mobile is move up internally, or have a strong network connection to give me a chance.

So now it comes to my options: I did try the GMAT once a 3 or 4 years ago, and scored a miserable 450. I believe that if I do it again, there will be new focus and I might score better. I dont quite know what industry I want to be in yet, but I want to step away from the front lines and do more of the backend, strategy, management, projects etc etc. I see myself better looking at data and spreadsheets, than people. I have done it and I know it is not my top strength.