Profile Evaluation: Help Please!

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation: Help Please!

by Bruce79 » Sat May 04, 2013 2:58 pm
I graduated from a top 15 undergraduate business program in the U.S. with honors and distinction, and I have two years of work experience as a business technology consultant at Deloitte Consulting. I recently took the GMAT test and got a score of 740. I'm wondering what my chances are for getting accepted into a first-tier MBA program. Also, which schools should I focus on for my application? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Here are some additional details about my background: I double-majored in finance and accounting and had both mathematics and economics as my undergraduate minors. I took 152 credit hours of courses within four years and passed the CPA exam. My college GPA is 3.76, which I believe is a bit low. I also had some experience interning with a small online brokerage firm in the past.

Many thanks!

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by InterviewBay2 » Sun May 05, 2013 8:27 am
Hi Bruce79,
Congratulations for getting such a high GMAT score. I must say your profile is really impressive. But, to exactly comment on your chances of getting in a first-tier B-School, we will need more information. Your strong academic performance would help you for your target B-School. But, admission committee also look for people who have demonstrated leadership ability in the past. You would have to grill through your past where you have worked as a team lead or taken initiatives.
You would also need to write application essays which shows your ability to introspect and communicate your point of view. It helps the admissions team to judge how you view yourself, your personal values and competencies.

Best of luck!
www.InterviewBay.com

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:1 members

by Vendetta » Mon May 06, 2013 2:34 am
Hi Bruce,