[710 Q45 V41] is my quant too weak?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

[710 Q45 V41] is my quant too weak?

by BankBank » Thu May 08, 2008 7:16 pm
took the gmat earlier this evening..

section - scaled score - percentile
quantitative - 45 - 77
verbal - 41 - 93
total - 710 - 93

the lady at the testing center (42nd + 5th ave in nyc) was very impressed, however, i'm unhappy with my quantitative score. my target is Columbia Fall '09 early decision, what do you guys think about how I stand? my undergrad is only 3.0 from a state school that doesn't have a strong reputation, and i have 2 years work experience as a money market trader at a small foreign bank.

thanks for your input.

[edit] by the way, i used MANY books, but the focus was always on the OG, both the double and the quant. FYI, I believe the test quant to be MUCH more challenging than what is provided in these books. I had the SAME experience with the 2 free practice test software available at mba.com... the questions just seem much harder and brand new.

I studed for a month casually about a year ago and then 2 months fairly hardcore before taking the test.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by jamess » Fri May 09, 2008 3:01 am
You could have score 750/760, had you got a perfect quant score.

Find out how below.
Check out <a href="https://gmatadvice.blocked">gmatadvice.blocked</a> for useful tips to ace the GMAT.
<a href="https://gmatadvice.blocked/2008/04/ ... tml">ebook on critical reasoning</a> launched.

by BankBank » Fri May 09, 2008 5:32 am
wow thanks for the advice mr spam

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:1 members

by parore26 » Sun May 11, 2008 10:48 am
LOL! nice reply.