how often is gmat prep software updated

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 79
Joined: 22 Oct 2007

how often is gmat prep software updated

by hk_4u » Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:50 am
Does any one know how often is the gmat prep software(mba.com) updated ? I downloaded the software in Dec 09 and have taken both the tests. If I download the software again , will the probability of seeing new questions increase ?

PS - I know that the software has a large pool of questions and one can give the tests again with some repeat questions. However I found a lot of repeat questions when I did that

User avatar
MBA Student
Posts: 1194
Joined: 16 Aug 2008
Location: Paris, France
Thanked: 71 times
Followed by:17 members
GMAT Score:710

by gmat740 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:21 pm
If you download the software now after one month, you will find new questions but there will be repeats and most importantly you will have an inflated score(Because of those repeat questions!)

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Jan 2010
Thanked: 1 times

by Due » Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:30 am
Can someone tell me weather the two official practice tests each have a different pool of questions?
And if not so, why would the questions not repeat in second test?

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 79
Joined: 22 Oct 2007

by hk_4u » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:18 am
As much as I know , there are 2 diff pools for the tests. You will don't find overlap between the 2 tests

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 51
Joined: 13 Jan 2010
Thanked: 1 times

by Due » Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:04 am
hk_4u wrote:As much as I know , there are 2 diff pools for the tests. You will don't find overlap between the 2 tests
Is the second test tougher than the first one?

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Posts: 177
Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Thanked: 6 times

by okigbo » Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:57 am
Both tests are just as difficult/easy as the actual test

User avatar
Community Manager
Posts: 1049
Joined: 17 Aug 2009
Location: India
Thanked: 51 times
Followed by:27 members
GMAT Score:670

by arora007 » Fri Jul 23, 2010 5:27 am
As far as i understand.....there should be just 2 sets of GMATPrep softwares....
I believe that just two sets of binaries which have been released by mba.com till date,
I have seen only two .exe files with different size on disk over the last two years.

However apart from the analysis of the filesize(cksum)

right click--> properties-->version number gives a different story.

File version: 10.0.0.159 for size 26,745,607 bytes

File version: 10.0.0.162 for size 27,142,744 bytes

but if somebody sees an executable file with either of the two sizes,but with different file version number,
it should essentially mean, that the content remains the same and its just that its been repackaged.

Many people have claimed that a new download gives them a set of new questions, but uninstalling and then installing again the same executable also gives new questions. This happens I guess because the questions database of the two tests might be BIG.
https://www.skiponemeal.org/
https://twitter.com/skiponemeal
Few things are impossible to diligence & skill.Great works are performed not by strength,but by perseverance

pm me if you find junk/spam/abusive language, Lets keep our community clean!!

GMAT/MBA Expert

User avatar
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Posts: 384
Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Location: Paris
Thanked: 92 times
Followed by:13 members

by [email protected] » Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:29 am
okigbo wrote:Both tests are just as difficult/easy as the actual test
I've heard some claim that the math section on the first test is a little more difficult, but overall they should be about the same.
Also, according to the owner of the gmatclub there are over 1,000 questions in the database and each test has it's own pool of questions.
If my post helped you- let me know by pushing the thanks button ;)

I'm a private tutor in Paris, I provide online and in person consulting for the GMAT and MBA application essays.
GMAT tutor paris
Prepa GMAT