How much does AWA matter?

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:9 members
GMAT Score:750

How much does AWA matter?

by sunman » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:26 am
Hi, my name is Sonny and this is my first time posting here. I'm a Marine Officer and a 2009 alumnus from the University of Illinois in Urbana Champaign.

After scoring anywhere from 710-770 on the various MGMAT, GMATPrep, and 800score.com CATs over the past 2-3 weeks (I started out scoring in the 610-640 range on Petersons CATs), I've moved on to preparing my AWA skills.

I've historically considered myself a fairly strong writer with a decent depth of vocabulary. I downloaded the GMAtWrite program from MBA.com today and decided to wing it. On both essays, I struggled to finish in time and I scored a two 5's (5/5/5/6, and 5/4/5/5 respectively).

Seeing as how a 5 is a relatively weak score (77th percentile? The "4" in one category is especially embarrassing, especially for a proud Illinois alum), my question is - how much does your AWA score matter to MBA admissions officers? I'm not flipping out yet, as I have two weeks to make improvements, but if I end up scoring 5's again, how much will that damage my prospects of admission to an elite business school, given an otherwise strong GMAT score?

I'd like to believe I'm a pretty strong writer, but 30 minutes is a hell of a time crunch.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Very Respectfully,

Sonny
"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it's the only thing that ever has" - Margaret Mead

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:255 members

by Brian@VeritasPrep » Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:29 am
Hey Sonny,