Couple scheduling questions

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Couple scheduling questions

by Kansonne » Wed Oct 31, 2007 5:22 pm
Hi, All---

Just wanted to get some feedback on a couple scheduling issues:

I'm scheduled to take the GMAT for the first time on Nov 29th, 2007 and my first application deadline is Jan 7th, 2008. I've been concentrating my energies for the past 3 months on the GMAT, and have yet to begin the application essays.

1. If I don't achieve a score that I'm satisfied with, should I try to take it again, even though this second test would be scheduled very close to the application deadline?

2. Would there be any issue if I took the GMAT for a second time after the Jan 7th deadline is passed and then updated the school I'm applying to with my (hopefully) better score?

Thanks!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members

Re: Couple scheduling questions

by beatthegmat » Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:04 pm
Kansonne wrote:Hi, All---

Just wanted to get some feedback on a couple scheduling issues:

I'm scheduled to take the GMAT for the first time on Nov 29th, 2007 and my first application deadline is Jan 7th, 2008. I've been concentrating my energies for the past 3 months on the GMAT, and have yet to begin the application essays.

1. If I don't achieve a score that I'm satisfied with, should I try to take it again, even though this second test would be scheduled very close to the application deadline?

2. Would there be any issue if I took the GMAT for a second time after the Jan 7th deadline is passed and then updated the school I'm applying to with my (hopefully) better score?

Thanks!
This is a tough call. If you wanted to re-take exam, then it might be difficult for you to simultaneously write your applications while studying for the test again. It's certainly do-able, but just be prepared to work hard if this scenario happens.