Advice International Undergraduate

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Advice International Undergraduate

by MichaelB » Thu Oct 09, 2008 9:31 pm
Hi everyone,

I was hoping to get some advice, although my application is still a while away. I am an undergraduate student in Melbourne, Australia doing a double-degree in Law and Commerce (majoring in Finance). This degree goes for 6 years.

I am interested in transitioning to an MBA program directly from my undergraduate studies and have heard that this is possible in some colleges for 'exceptional' candidates.

I have not yet undertaken the GMAT and would like to ask these questions assuming that I will succeed in the GMAT and score 750+... (nice assumption but I have done a couple of practice tests and believe that with some study I can do very well)

--- Start snapshot

My GPA is about 3.1, which for my university is quite strong. We use a different system based on weighted averages. I will most likely graduate with "First Class Honours" in Law - awarded to the top 5% of graduates by grade.

I will not receive honours in Finance because it requires an extra year of study, I am not particularly interested.

Whilst university I have been very active in extra-curricular activities - I am President of the Law Students' Society (2000 members, $400k budget, committee of 36), have been Secretary & Treasurer of the Snowsports Club (500 members, $300k budget, committee of 22) and have competed in numerous law competitions with success (State Champion in Mooting - a legal competition, National Semi-Finalist in Client-Interviewing, University Champion in Negotiation and Debating.

I have undertaken vacation work at a couple of the top Australian law firms over the summer and work part time for the university in a computer lab (unimpressive casual role one day/week to support myself).