690 ----> 720 in 15 days exactly !!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

690 ----> 720 in 15 days exactly !!

by Rezinka » Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:02 pm
Hello

For the technically inclined, who are thinking that GMAT does not let you retake in 15 days, YES is does NOT. By 15 days, I mean the number of days I studied. I had my first attempt on July 2, 2011. Here's the brief :

https://www.beatthegmat.com/690-retaking ... 86398.html

Strategy, Books and Schedule
Well, after giving my first attempt and being disappointed at scoring in the 60s percentile in Verbal, I decided to retake it soon and scheduled another appointment on August 3. But unable to form a workable strategy after 15 days, I rescheduled it for September 3. Now, I did some R & D and found help right here. I responded to one of Danaj's posts and asked her to help me out. I needed no help in quant and as such she recommended me the following books:
1. MGMAT SC
2. CR Powerscore Bible
3. MGMAT RC
+ OG12
+OG Verbal Review

I made my study schedule on August 18 and started studying on August 19. I decided to slog for the next 15 days and get a 700+ score. Following was my schedule:
Date: 19,22,25,28,31 : 2 chapters of SC (with the questions at the end)
Date: 20,23,26,29,1 : 2 chapters of CR (with the questions at the end)
Date: 21,24,27,30,2 : 1 chapter of RC

I stuck to my schedule for the first week and then decided to go one step further and do 3 chapters everyday. Finally, I finished all 3 books. Could not practice the extra questions at the end - time crunch. During studying, I took fervent notes and studied them everyday before beginning a new chapter.

Test Day