640 to 770

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

640 to 770

by camdoc » Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:18 pm
Although I have been trolling this website for a few months now, this is the first post that I have put on here. I took the GMAT for the second time today and scored a 770 (as the post topic reveals, my first attempt was not as stellar). Either way, I just wanted to thank all the people who have posted excel sheets, tip sheets etc for all these resources.
I don't really think that my experience with the GMAT was that different from the experience that other users have cited.
The three things, that I would like to mention though are 1) make sure that you get enough sleep before the exam and are relaxed ( it can work wonders, like improving your score from 640-> 770) 2) do not panic if the questions (especially) in the quant seem very easy half way through the exam 3) do not lose heart if you are not scoring that well on the Manhattan GMAT mock tests ( the highest score I ever got was a 700).
thanks again.

Legendary Member
Followed by:2 members

by mals24 » Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:31 pm
hey camdoc congrats on your brilliant score and fantastic improvement.

Could you post a debrief of how you prepared for the GMAT and how differently did you prepare for the exam the 2nd time.
Plus the similarities between the actual GMAT and GMAT prep, your verbal prep etc.

Thanks in advance and all the very best with your applications :)

by camdoc » Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:26 pm
Sure, I guess I should clarify a few things first. I have a PhD in Applied Physics (ie. I am relatively comfortable with Math) and also as I am currently based at a university, I asked friends of mine who were studying English literature to teach me some English grammar.