What GMAT should I aim for? Baruch MBA

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

What GMAT should I aim for? Baruch MBA

by ssingh123 » Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:43 am
Hey guys,

So I'm studying for the GMAT, and I was wondering what GMAT I should aim for because my GPA isn't very good. I have about 6-8 weeks till test date and am looking to apply to the CUNY Baruch Zicklin Accelerated Part Time MBA Program (or regular part time, not sure if one is more competitive that the other).

My GPA is low at a 2.85, but I have 5 years of work experience through college till now. I work with JPMorgan, so I was hoping that would help me out a lot.

Also, considering my time frame, any particular books anyone would recommend?

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by westsidah408 » Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:59 pm
Hi ssingh123,

From Zicklin's website the average stats for the class of 2012 are:

Part-Time MBA (Accelerated Format)

GMAT Average 590 (GMAT 80% Range 510-660)
GPA Average 3.3
Years Work Exp 5.4

Part-Time MBA (Flexible Format)

GMAT Average 590 (GMAT 80% Range 510-690)
GPA Average 3.2
Years Work Exp 4.8

Just by looking at the stats, you will need as close to 700 (more is always better if possible) to really offset your low GPA. You work experience is around the average so you're fine there.

That said, definitely keep in mind that your GMAT/GPA is merely one component of your application.

Good luck! :)
ssingh123 wrote:Hey guys,

So I'm studying for the GMAT, and I was wondering what GMAT I should aim for because my GPA isn't very good. I have about 6-8 weeks till test date and am looking to apply to the CUNY Baruch Zicklin Accelerated Part Time MBA Program (or regular part time, not sure if one is more competitive that the other).

My GPA is low at a 2.85, but I have 5 years of work experience through college till now. I work with JPMorgan, so I was hoping that would help me out a lot.