Two black eyes by the GMAT

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Two black eyes by the GMAT

by Gmatto700 » Sat Jun 21, 2008 2:20 pm
Its beyond terrible! I have been preparing for the last 3-4 months intensely, not to mention this is my third time taking the GMAT. My score - Upper 500s!

The question I have is should I take the GMAT again?

What I did differently this time compared to the past?
- I had a very different strategy during my preparation this time around, and my test prep scores reflected my hardwork. I read throught the Manhattan series making notes and ensuring I understood especially the SC. In addition, as I went through questions, I spent a lot of time reviewing questions I got wrong, why I got them wrong and how to solve similar questions. I also was actively participating in various forums like this.

My prep scores:
Kaplan - ranged from 540 - 590.
MGMAT 1 - 640
MGMAT 2 - 630
MGMAT 3 - 690
MGMAT 4 - 640
MGMAT 5 - 640
MGMAT 6 - 630
MGMAT 1 (reset) - 670
GMATPrep 1 - 690
GMATPrep 1 (repeat) - 710
GMATPrep 2 - 710

After these scores, I felt confident that the worst I would do would be the upper 600s.

After my test today, when I saw my score, I was very upset- how did this happen? So now, the question is do I take the GMAT 1 more last time or give up on the idea of B-school altogether?

GMAT-ers out there - please help! I appreciate any serious feedback, suggestions and/or recommendations. :cry:

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

by mbadrew » Sat Jun 21, 2008 3:45 pm
Sorry to hear about your defeat. What was your review strategy? You did mention that you took all the prep tests but did you spend time strengthening your core knowledge of the subjects?