The Questions will be repeated after two tests in GMAT Prep?

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 74
Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Thanked: 4 times
Hi All,

I am planning to take my GMAT again.
I would like gauge my performance against the GMAT Prep Software.
But I want to know if I take tests again after the two tests will the questions be repeated. If the questions are repeated then the test would not reflect my true ability. What should be my strategy in this case.

Any suggestions/tricks appreciated


Thanks
Komal

User avatar
Legendary Member
Posts: 986
Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Location: India
Thanked: 51 times
Followed by:1 members

by gabriel » Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:18 am
Hi Komal,

GMAT gives just 2 practice tests, if you choose to use these tests more than once then the questions will repeat it self to a certain extent. If you do much better on the 2nd attempt then you will see some difficult questions that you hadn't seen in the 1st attempt but you will still see questions repeated. The standard practice is to use one test after some amount of prep to gauge your progress and to use the 2nd at the end when most of your prep is done. For practice there are several tests available, they might not give you the best indication about where you stand (not as good as GMAT prep) but are nevertheless good practice.

Regards

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 65
Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Thanked: 4 times

by rajmirra » Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:58 am
Hey Guys , I also wanted to know about this. Someone in this forum said that uninstalling and re-installing would get you new questions. Is that correct?
~R

User avatar
Legendary Member
Posts: 986
Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Location: India
Thanked: 51 times
Followed by:1 members

by gabriel » Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:13 am
rajmirra wrote:Hey Guys , I also wanted to know about this. Someone in this forum said that uninstalling and re-installing would get you new questions. Is that correct?
~R
If you use one test more than once you are bound to get repeated questions the 2nd time onwards. I don't think the reinstalling solution will make any difference because there are only a limited number of questions in the question bank and that is not going to change.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 74
Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Thanked: 4 times

by joshi.komal » Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:05 am
Thanks folks for the help.

But what should I do now...I want to gauge my performance. Then how should I do that now...


Any suggestions for preparing well for the second attempt.

Thanks
Komal

User avatar
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Posts: 50
Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Thanked: 7 times

by blue_lotus » Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:42 am
The old version of GMATPrep would be the other best choice.
It is called powerprep.

https://www.gorillatestprep.com/gmat_resources.html

This would be the next closest thing you can get next to GMATPrep.



Other Online free CAT are available
Princton 1 free test
Kaplan 1 free test
ManhattanGMAT 1 freetest

You can also buy Kaplan Premier 2008 book which contains 5 tests [ If you are planning 650+]
Princton book comes with 4 CAT [ If you are planning 500-600]
ManhattanGMAT any book will give you 6 online tests. [Closest after GMATPrep and PowerPrep softwares]
[if you are planning 700+]

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Posts: 195
Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Thanked: 10 times

by sankruth » Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:59 am
Does anybody know if GMAC updated their question bank recently? i.e. I downloaded the software almost 5 months ago, so would the questions be different if I download it now?