Slightly Older Non-Traditional MBA Hopeful - Test Scores

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I just took the GMAT & scored really low (Q25 / V36). I'm looking for advice/suggestions.

I am a 33rd year-old male, non-traditional student I suppose as my undergraduate degrees are in art history, English, and graphic design, and I have 10 years work experience--4 in outside sales & 6 in marketing--currently hold marketing director position for a small business. I have two bachelors degrees--GPA 3.2 first time, 3.7 second time--first from a top tier university & second from a good art school.

Applying to part-time programs at Stern & Zicklin for marketing concentration. Was hoping to submit my applications in the next few days for the fall deadline, but now reconsidering since my low scores. Stern also accepts GRE (my scores Q550/ V640). I feel like my GMAT score is just way too low for a chance at Stern, and possibly Zicklin, too. Should I now wait, retake the test over the summer & apply for the spring semester? Or, should I just hope for a miracle & submit my application for fall anyway? Any advice appreciated.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Tue May 10, 2011 6:36 am
I think the best thing to do is try to speak with someone from Admissions at Stern & Zicklin. They're really in the best position to give advice.

Cheers,
Brent
Brent Hanneson - Creator of GMATPrepNow.com

by joechap » Tue May 10, 2011 3:54 pm
Thank you, Brent. I just sent a query to both programs explaining my situation & asking if I would still be a viable candidate, or if it just makes more sense to retake the GMAT & apply for the spring 2012 semester instead.

Thank you for the suggestion.

Joe

by joechap » Wed May 11, 2011 8:55 am