should I get an MBA(is the risk and investment worth it)?

Let's talk about...whatever!
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
so here is my situation. I graduated in 2005, degree with mathematics(BS). Having a 4 year degree in mathematics with no other types of training(CS, finance, accounting, etc etc) makes it difficult to find a job.

So after I graduated, I found a job at an insurance company(doing claims in a call center). Totally unrelated, but I have been working at it since. Job is okay. nothing to complain about. Salary is good. started with 32k, then went to 40, 45 and now at 50k(supervisor); more than enough. Opportunities are endless as its possible to promote to manager, upper manager etc etc, and salary can reach 100k if I have the potential.

Recently, I have been thinking about getting an MBA. My thoughts are to quit my job, go to MBA full time for 16 months, graduate, and find a better job.

My purpose of getting an MBA is ofcourse to make myself more marketable == more money. not only in the insurance industry, but also to other sectors(finance, acct, energy, etc etc).

once I graduate from my MBA, I will not want to go back to my old company. reason is while mba is strongly encouraged, it doesn't set me apart from any one else in my company == no extra benefits. If there is no benefits, why would I even want to go to MBA?

So I would want to work for a company which seeks MBA's and can compensate accordingly. I want to eventually move to the corporate offices, be director, executive, etc etc, and not just be a manager.

so question is this:
1. With my 3 years work experience and salary of 50k, if I quit my job, and find a job with my newly acquired mba, will my compensation be competitive to my current salary? Im okay with quitting my extremely comfortable job, but I only want to do it if the pay off of the MBA will be worth it.