Scored 600 on the GMAT (Q33 + V39). Need 720+.... Help!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:600
Hi everyone!
I studied 150 hours over the course of 2.5 months and only scored a dissapointing 600 (Q33 + V39) on my official exam.
I took CATs from Kaplan throughout this period and have been using material from:
-Kaplan
-Veritas Prep
-Manhattan Prep
-OG

On my CATs, the most I ever scored on quant was 36. Can someone please give me advice on how to score 46+ on quant?
Also - how much more time do you think I will need to raise my score? I'm applying to grad schools this fall.

Thanks in advance!

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:410

by diegocml » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:03 pm
Hi WillNotGiveUp,

I'm sorry to hear you haven't met your target score, YET.

In fact, your current score is exactly my goal score. Could you please tell me what were the results of your past CATs, if any and what was your study routine?

Thanks a lot and don't give up!

Cheers,
Diego
Diego

1st GMAT attemp: 410 (Q18 V27)
2nd GMAT attemp: 490 (Q35 V23)

by WillNotGiveUp » Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:47 pm
Hi Diegocml,

My past CAT scores ranged from 480-600, with most at 570.
Regular study time: 2+ hours on 4/5 weekdays and 4+ hrs each weekend day.
Quota of 16 hrs/wk

Quant
Math Basics:
-Veritas Prep GMAT Series 1-12 Elite Test Preparation - Raised my scored from 23 to 33
-Kaplan Online Resources - This came with an in-person course I bought but the online resources are really sufficient. You get 9 CAT exams with the option of taking any in-person at a test center, video lessons, and many exam questions. You can even build personalized exams that focus on your areas of weakness. I took these quizzes over and over.
-Manhatten Prep - To go into detail about math topics
-OG Problems - Did a few of these every evening.