Ridiculous 570 (Q42, V27)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Ridiculous 570 (Q42, V27)

by cunazza » Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:59 am
Hi all,
I just took my GMAT today and got embarassed by the final score 570 (Q42, V27)... This is even lower (and much lower) than the first score I got after the first GMATPrep simulation I took BEFORE starting studying (that was 630).
I had not much time to focus my studying due to my current job which does not give me a lot of free time (working even on weekends), but I'm a Computer Engineer and I've been working in an English speaking country for more than 2 years, so I felt I didn't need a huge preparation in order for me to break the 700 threshold... In fact, when I got 630 to my first simulation, I felt like I was on the right way and with some studying I could get over 700.
After some studying (OG 11/12 and MGMAT questions), I took several simulations (GMATPrep and MGMAT), and all my scores were between 660 and 720, with partials going between Q40/Q47 and V35/V41.
Important point: I was not confident that I could easily get a score greater than 700 on the real thing, but on the other hand I knew that (maybe with a bit of luck) I could also score even more than 720.

My way to the exam

I took one week off from work to try and finalise my studies, since before this week I was studying on and off only when my job allowed me. On the free weekends, I was taking the simulations in the morning and reviewing them in the afternoon (I never had a FULL weekend off, meaning that I could study either on a Saturday or on a Sunday).
I did lots of studying in this week, maybe too much as I felt I was getting very tired so I kept the last 2 days before the real exam pretty much empty from big study.