profile evaluation please?

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

profile evaluation please?

by daddyv » Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:48 pm
Hi,

Im a 24 year old Indian male from Australia and i just got my GMAT score - 720(q50,v38)
I grew up in India but have lived in Adelaide for the last 8 years. I studied Computer Science (class of 09) in university (Uni of South Australia) and have a gpa of 4.8/7. I realise this is below the curve in American standards but is above average-ish here. I have 3.5 years of work experience as a business analyst working in a couple of different companies both in Australia and overseas and have shown significant career progression in the last 3 years.
Outside of work, I play cricket and soccer for local grade A clubs. Im involved in charity events(Daffodil Day) run by the Cancer Council of Australia and have also done some fundraising. I have also helped design and set up a website for an organisation called 'Save the Murray', which works towards spreading awareness about the increasing salinity of river Murray and its effects in the ecosystem. They are also pushing for legislation that will see measure taken to counter this effect. (My involvement was primarily a favour for a friend but hey! if i can use it to leverage some brownie points, why not?!)
I will have 4 years of work ex by next fall so I feel like this is right time to do an MBA. Id ideally like to do something related to corporate financial modelling post MBA. I feel like i have the quant background for the job but an mba would give me the tools and the business knowledge to step into the position or a similar role in the financial services field.
I have researched a few programs and shortlisting them has been a pain. Since the deadlines are fast approaching for R2, I was hoping I could get some expert advice on which school i have a legitimate shot and which ones might be unrealistic?

Reach Schools: MIT, Yale