Profile evaluation for Top 20 program

Launched January 9, 2010
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile evaluation for Top 20 program

by newkillinit » Mon May 11, 2015 4:24 pm
Hi,

I've just started planning for my MBA education possibly 2 - 3 years down the road, as I know the process is going to be complicated. Here's my basic situation:

24 Y/O Asian Male from Canada
BMath in Statistics from top math program in Canada (University of Waterloo)
BBA in Finance (Econ minor) from tier-2 business program in Canada (Wilfrid Laurier University, it's a double degree program)
4 internships all in finance completed during undergrad
Undergraduate GPA is quite low (70% cumulative GPA)
CFA Level 2 Candidate and I plan on finishing the program and getting the charter
Extracurriculars includes running the finance club on campus and other volunteering/non-profit involvements
So far I have about 2 years work experience in the Cayman Islands (financial services)
About to move to Hong Kong for an US bulge bracket bank (think JPM/MS/GS) in June 2015

Eventually I do want to end up in North America (NYC/Chicago/Toronto), but I plan on spending 3 - 4 years in Asia for the experience
Plans after MBA is returning to bulge bracket bank (not investment banking, but roles like institutional sales on the trading floor)

So I plan on matriculating in 2017 to 2018 but I've began researching already and below are some schools I'm interested in:
Yale SOM
Duke
Cornell (leaning towards the 1 year program, since a CFA charter will make me eligible for the accelerated program)
Kellog (1 year program as well)
Queens (Canada, this is 1 year as well beginning in January)
UToronto Rotman (CFA charter will exempt me from GMAT requirements so it's convenient)

My questions are:
Based on my background, would an Ivy MBA or M7 be a bit of a stretch for me (or completely beyond reach?)