Profile Eval- MS in Accounting

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Eval- MS in Accounting

by musicious » Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:28 pm
Hi, I realize this is an MBA forum but I'm hoping someone can help me in choosing graduate Accounting schools. Here's my projected info when I graduate in December:

BS in Accounting -University of Kansas
Overall GPA: 3.16
Professional(business courses) GPA: 3.87
Accounting GPA: 3.96
GMAT: 710 (Q47 V40 AWA 5)

My overall GPA is lower because I majored in Computer Engineering and Music Performance my first 2 years and struggled. Do you think it will hurt even though I have straight As the past 2.5 years?

I tried to get an accounting internship twice to no avail. The only job I had was office work with a temp agency one summer. My only extra-curricular activity is playing tuba/piano in the Wind Ensemble. However, since I'm applying for Accounting instead of an MBA I'm hoping experience isn't as much of a factor.

I only studied a few weeks for the GMAT and I'm positive I could get 740-60, but with only a couple months till application deadlines I don't think I have time to retake it. I realize a 710 isn't competitive at MBA programs, but It seems like the average GMAT for accounting applicants is lower so perhaps it could make up for my low GPA?

I'm from Illinois and my first choice is University of Illinois-Champaign Urbana with my safety school as Northern Illinois. Both are ranked in the Public Accounting Report Top25 Accounting Graduate programs.

I thought about Depaul and the University of Illinois at Chicago because their GMAT averages are higher than Northern, but they aren't ranked for Masters of Accountancy even though they have a good MBA program.