Pls advice

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Pls advice

by mainak01 » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:03 pm
Time for a career shift. I have been in the merchant navy(engineering officer) since 2007 working with a reputed company. In I had taken a break in between and joined a Tata company for about 18 months as project engineer and subsequently got a promotion as well. However, the larger picture was to crack an IIM in this period which didnt happen. Went back to shipping and have worked 2 years since then. I graduated in BE Marine Engineering from a BITS affiliated college and acquired a CGPA of 6.2/10. However, I was involved in a lot of extra curricular activities in school and in college and need to find a way of highlighting them properly. In my 18 months with TATA Steel I have been in very important projects in corroboration with HEC, BHEL, BORL and have got recommendations to show. GMAT score of 670 and exclusively looking at ISB (2014). Kindly evaluate my chances.
Thanks
M

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:13 members
GMAT Score:740

by ivyctor2010 » Sat Dec 22, 2012 11:17 pm
Differentiating Factors

Strength of your profile can be very well measured when we compare you to your applicant pool. For example if I compare you with another merchant navy professional, what do you think are the 3 differentiating factors? Is it that you have extensively worked on process improvements during dry dock projects or onboard ship? Or does your strength lie into your general management skills? Can you quick stint and promotions with TATAs a strong point? No easy answers here, start thinking on these lines.

Leadership