Please help me evaluate my non-traditional profile

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

I have a relatively non-traditional background and I was hoping that you could take the time to help evaluate my profile.

I started my career in the mortgage business (front-office position with a small company) for 3.5 years, while I simultaneously attended (part-time) a third-tier state college. I graduated with a business degree (3.96 GPA) in December of 06; around the same time I went to work for a small real estate developer as an analyst.

I'm happy with my job, but I want more. Moving forward, I want to focus my career in the management of commercial real estate. I want to build on my existing skill set and eventually move into the upper echelons of a mid or large-sized firm. I feel that attending a MBA program with a focus in real estate management in the proper route to achieve this goal. Since very few schools offer a Real Estate concentration, my target school is NYU/Stern. (I feel that many other schools with similar programs, such as columbia and sloan, are out of my league)

I recently took the GMAT and (disappointingly) scored a 640. Do you think it's worth retaking the test? -- I feel that I could increase my score by, at most, 40-50 points.

What do you think my chances are of getting into NYU? Will a huge mark go against me because I graduated from a 3rd tier school? Do you think it's worth pursuing lower-tiered schools with Real Estate programs, such as Bentley in MA? I've always had the impression, and have been told, that it's not worth attending grad school if you can't get into a top 20 school - what are your thoughts?

Thanks for your help!
dave

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:2 members

by Amy » Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:53 pm
Hi Dave,