Please evaluate my profile: Wharton EMBA / Booth EMBA

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

Here is my background. I would like to know what my admission chances are to Wharton or Booth EMBA.

Designation: Principal Engineer - Oil & Gas

GMAT: 760
GPA (undergrad - B.Tech in Mech): 3.7 from Indian Institute of Technology
GPA (grad): 4.00/4.00 (Top 15 state school in the US for Mechanical Engineering)
GPA (PhD) : 4.00/4.00 (PhD in Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M)

I have over 7 years of work experience as a Subsea Engineer and my current designation is Principal Engineer where I am involved in managing engineering projects in my department. I have published 4-5 conference and research papers.
My company is willing to sponsor $25k for my EMBA where Wharton and Booth fee is around $160k-$180k

Leadership: Led several projects @ work. Mentored / managed Engineers in each project.

Career Achievement: First, received several appreciation emails from clients upon completion of engineering projects that I led. Second, received several promotions in last 7 years within the same group/same company and my current salary is $15X.XX per annum plus bonus.

Questions:

- Do you think my profile is competitive enough for the schools I've mentioned? I am also wondering on how to build my essay and application for Wharton and Booth and deadlines are in 3 months where I see some time crunch. What is the average time that I should take to prepare essay and application for both of these schools?

- Travelling and time is not a problem. I feel that I am stuck as a Engineering manager and would these MBA programs help me getting into more bigger roles?

It will be great if you could give me a realistic picture of my chances at Wharton and Booth EMBA program. I haven't decided on applying to any other program yet.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by premv on Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

GMAT/MBA Expert