PLEASE ADVISE: 10 Days Left...the final countdown...

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi there,

I have been studying for the GMAT for about two months now (on and off), strictly using Kaplan. Initially I used the Kaplan GMAT book, then I signed up and took the month long course.

As my test day approaches (about 10 days left), I got curiuos and looked on the net for other resources. Well, here I am ... and thanks to this great website and forum I found out that there are many other great resources for studying for the GMAT, such as the Official Guide and the GMATPrep software.

I have some questions and I would appreciate any feedback:

1. On the latest Kaplan CAT that I took, I got an overall score of 590 (previous scores 520, 540). Honestly I am frustrated with Kaplan at this point because I have studied hard but I feel that their scores do not show it. Are these scores realistic compared to the real GMAT? My goal is to get a 650 on the actual GMAT test. (I also feel that some of the quesitons on the Kaplan CAT are very hard and their explanations nonsense.)

2. Tomorrow I plan to take the first GMATPrep test since I read it provides better feedback on the actual score. Also, tomorrow I plan to go to a bookstore and get the GMAT Official Guide. Any suggestions on how I should spend these last 10 days as far as studying goes? I think I am ready to stop working with the never ending Kaplan study sessions and try something new.

3. And lastly, is it realistic to hope for a 100 point increase in these last 10 days if I study daily?

Many Thanks !
Taulant

p.s. I wanted to thank the creator and the supporters of this site for doing such a great job with information sharing

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by wunderkind » Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:44 pm
It's too bad that you didn't find this site before you spent so much time on Kaplan! You are right, the tests are too hard and the scores are WAY off. A 590 on Kaplan is actually very good.