Need 700+, need help with how to study

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Need 700+, need help with how to study

by uhsa » Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:26 pm
I have MGMAT set of all the books. I first took a practice GMAT test, got 520. I haven't been in school for over a decade. Then I started studying but due to work, on and off study time, couldn't really finish more than 3 MGMAT Quant books and no Verbal book. I couldn't study for 3 weeks before the actual GMAT, and got 480. I feel horrible.

I know the avg range of students do not go move than 50 points, but I want to defy it. Mainly because I never got to study and so the test score is not the right one. I sometimes have trouble focussing, I have two kids under 8 and a full time job. Can you please help me in getting myself a schedule that will get me 700 plus? I can do 2-3 hrs a day, maybe 3 months should do it? Any help is really appreciated.

I looked at the 60 day BTG emails, but they are more Kaplan based. I am looking to get in to Booth Part Time. Have been looking at various things, like form a study group here in Chicago area and/or get an instructor to get me start up. Any help to get me on track is appreciated. Anyone who beat the GMAT and would like to share a "how-to" game plan is really what I need.

Thank you all.

uhsa

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members

by NextGreatLeader » Wed Aug 15, 2012 1:03 pm
The biggest thing I can recommend do you is that you make studying an appointment on your calendar. Repeatedly stopping and starting or studying while you're distracted will not help boost your score. I've started waking up an hour earlier to study before work. I had initially been studying after work, but I was often too tired to be truly productive. You may also be able to spend an extra 20-30 minutes working on a few practice problems during your lunch break.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by uhsa » Wed Aug 15, 2012 5:04 pm