My scores have been literally all over the place.

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members
I have taken the gmat 3 times and have had an insane experience.

1st Attempt.

The first time I took the gmat I was not prepared for it. I had signed up for it a few months beforehand and I took it to get the first time jitters out of the way. I was pretty relaxed, I think, since I knew it was just a test run. I got a 42 quant 27 verbal for a total of 570. I wasn't suprised with the verbal as I had not studied SC, but my quant was low.

2nd Attempt

This was in late May. I had been studying with a fantastic tutor for three months and I was at the top of my game. My math was as good as it was going to get. My tutor said I should get at least a 48- probably wont get a 50 or 51 simply because of timing and thats those scores are reserved for the quickest and the smartest.... and that he had nothing left to teach me, regarding quant. Verbal- I was getting so few wrong and had gotten maybe one or two RC wrong while reviewing with him. My sc was in top shape as well and my CR was very good. However, there were always a couple of CR or SC that i got wrong. I mostly got the CR wrong if I simply didn't really understand the argument- which didn't bother me. Also, the SC where the answer was " well b is wrong because its awkward", when a ton of awkward answer are correct- thats b.s. but i was fine with in. Overall, verbal was strong. All my practice tests on mgmat were from 700-740. Quant was usually 47 and verbal was low to mid 40's. I go in to take the test. I was clearly very nervous but wait for it... I get a 610 38 quant! 35 verbal... ??? I honestly looked at the screen and was just confused. I knew WAY more math than my first attempt. My verbal I was actually ok with since one passage