My GMAT story: 640 - not great, but enough

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

My GMAT story: 640 - not great, but enough

by curaheee » Sat Dec 10, 2011 3:22 am
Hi everyone,

I wanted to share my story sooner (master of procrastination), but I finally had a good sleep tonight and have nothing to do till lunch, so here we go.

First, I have to say I am not going for the MBA at TOP10, my goal is MSc in Finance/Economics at one of the universities in Netherlands etc. Even though majority here is in the former category, there may be someone like me. I am 21, I finished my bachelors in June 2011 and have been working part time for a year in a telecommunication company (financial department).

I started studying on 1 AUG and subscribed to the 60 Day GMAT study guide - highly recommended. Although I wanted to follow the guide and take the test in exactly 2 months, I had work, my school began and I started a perfect relationship. So it took me a little bit longer and finally registered for 2 NOV.

QUANT:
It's really easy, when you understand it and \probably\ the only topic I had to revise was probability. I learned some new tricks though:) I kinda liked the problems, they were different from those you have in high school or university. I was following the OG 12 and Quantitative review, which was enough for me. For those who aren't confident, Manhattan GMAT guides are the way.

VERBAL:
The part I liked the most was CR, I had never met something like that before. I can imagine it's easier for a native speaker. Same with RC. There were some terms or words I hadn't even heard of before, but I was too lazy to mark them down. I had a vocab list from someone, again, too lazy to go through it.