major disappointment

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

major disappointment

by pindan » Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:05 am
hi
bombed the gmat yesterday, first attempt,am not too gr8 in quant, and pretty average in english as well, but i have been working pretty hard on these for the past 5 months, though serious studies started only after i bukd the date(a month ago).quant was pretty okay i think , the questions wer average only, in between got 1 probability and a p & c ques,which made me pretty confident about my performance,then started off wid verbal , except the last two RCs ,which were too lengthy and awk, i thought i was doin pretty well, got a bold faced CR question as the 14th question. but when i saw the scores , i was devastated by the dismal scores. it was Q42,V28 , i cud not believe that everythg was happening. an overall score of 540, the lowest ever even in my mocks,the highest being 640 in the gmatprep2, wherein i managed to score a 34 in verbal and a 45 in quant. So it was pretty tuf for me to accept that i ve spoiled it all. i am targeting a score more than 700, i know am not prepared enuf to target that score, but i ve no choice but to achieve somethg more than 720-730, as i am targeting to get into ISB,and keeping in mind my IT background, i have to score it big to improve my chances.its not possible for this year anyway as the deadline ends dec1 , and i think i need mmore time to practice, dun wana see the same results again.my weak area as i ve noticed is data suff in quant, and prob solv is also not too gr8, feel eng is better , not gr8 though. please advice on my strategies and the resources i should follow.i have attended princeton's classroom sessions, i find their tests are useless, way below standard of actual gmat.please guide.

by pindan » Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:50 am