Just scored 720

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Just scored 720

by srishar » Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:44 am
I have been using this forum for the last month or so and found it of tremendous value. I just took the GMAT today- scored 720 (Q49, v38).

During the GMAT I encountered a real incompetent center tech. When I chose to take the break between the AWA and Quant sections he put me on an unscheduled break instead of a scheduled break. This lopped off 5 mins. off my quant. I had to do my quant at double the speed and still made out OK. I was still able to answer all questions. I guess those 5 mins could have sent my score up by 10 but I am still a OK. Tip: between sections get to the break screen, choose break and then ask to walk out.

Its been a while since I graduated from school. I guess had I taken it then (when my quant was stronger and my verbal was grammatically pure- years of living in the US degrades your English) my scores could have been better.

Preparation: OG 11th edition cover to cover.
OG quant review and OG verbal review.
MGMAT sentence correction
GMATfocus quant bought 3 used 2.

Scores while practicing(chronologically in a 15 day time frame):
GMAT prep test1 : 660
GMAT prep test1 retake : 700
Kaplan free test: 640
Princeton free test 610!!!!
GMATfocus 1 45-50 scaled score
Gmat prep test 2 660
GMAT focus 2 47-51 scaled score
Gmat prep test 2 retake 700
Final GMAT 720.

I did the bulk of my study in a 15 day time frame. For about 3 months I would study aboout 3 -5 hours a week.

IF I HAD to do it again: