How to improve my Quant score from 39 to 46?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

How to improve my Quant score from 39 to 46?

by AA11 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:41 pm
I just took the GMAT yesterday and was thrashed by it.

Score: 590 (33V, 39Q)

My practice test scores are as follows:

Kaplan 1: 580 (Sept)
Kaplan 2: 640 (Sept)
MGMAT1: 580 (Jan)
GMAT Prep 1: 620 (Feb, 3 weeks before Exam)
MGMAT2: 640 (Feb, 4 days before Exam)
GMAT Prep 2: 580 (Feb 22nd, night before the Exam)

My math score ranged from 37-42 and verbal ranged from 29-36.

I went through Kaplan Premiere Book to get a basic idea of the GMAT and did all the questions. I studied for 2 weeks and took 2 Kaplan tests. I took the first one at 3 am and scored 580. I knew I hadn't performed to the best of my ability so I took another one the next day and scored 640. After that, I felt relaxed because I had heard people say that a 640 on Kaplan is close to 700 on the real thing. I bought the MGMAT books and went through the CR and most of the SC book, doing OG qs along the way. However, I soon got busy with school so decided to wait till winter break to study.