From 550 to 660

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

From 550 to 660

by PIPMANG » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:33 pm
Hi Folks,

While a 660 hardly constitutes 'beating the GMAT', it represented quite a jump for me and - most importantly - got me into business school. I'm still waiting on one school but I'm already admitted at and will likely be attending UC Davis in the fall.

I started my GMAT journey in the Fall of 2009. I had recently been laid-off from a large consulting firm where I worked in finance & accounting. I took a 10 week Princeton Review course to prepare for the test. I realize in retrospect that the class taught me all the basics which in turn yielded a very basic, average score. I had some serious math deficiencies and scored 35 V, 30 Q.

I didn't dwell on the score since I started a new position that required my full attention. However, 6 months later I was laid-off again (crappy California economy) and this time decided to pursue an MBA education.

My application package looked something like this:

Double-major at UC Irvine
3.56 cumulative GPA
3-years consulting work experience
550 GMAT, 49% percentile

I only applied to two schools and got to the interview phase at both. I was then rejected from the Merage School of Business (UC Irvine) and moved into the second round of admissions at the UC Davis Graduate School of Management.