First attempt, 7 weeks prep got a 720

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

First attempt, 7 weeks prep got a 720

by aschopra01 » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:52 am
I want to share my GMAT journey with everyone because I believe with the right training and tactics this exam can be beaten. Background about myself, I have an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering that i got a little over 7 years ago in US. I wanted to get 700+ in order to get into the business schools that i am targeting.
Material/prep used:
OG
EMPOWERgmat

Below is a timeline of my scores from 6 OG CATs.

1/6/18 - 590 - I was pretty disappointed. Even though it was the first attempt, and before i had started studying, i expected to get somewhere between 600-650.
1/27/18 - 690 - I was shocked again, however this time pleasantly. I did not expect to get a 100 point improvement in 3 weeks. But the tactics taught by Rich and Max from Empower helped me to improve (more on this later).
2/3/18 - 680
2/10/18 - 660
2/17/18 - 640
2/24/18 - 650

3/3/18 (Actual GMAT) - 720. Q49, V38