erratic score..

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

erratic score..

by iamkalive » Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:02 pm
hey,

i wrote my gmat last week. for the very first time and first situation in full exam conditions.
I didn't do the greatest. 560 30-verbal 36-math, 6.0-AWA

I,for some reason killed the AWA section. I only wrote 2 practice exams prior to the exam, and had no way of marking them. i find myself to be a terrible writer, especially in timed conditions. but i managed to do great in the AWA.- 90%.

The math and verbal. i studied a couple of weeks, barely, and at a poor schedule and discipline. i could have done much better in math and verbal.

I am wondering how schools will see the score-560. a few of the schools i am looking to apply at have 550 minimums.

I do not have full 4 year degree. i have a 3 yr general science degree, i have taken over 120 credit hours of classes. And i also have a graduate diploma, which included 7 actual MBA, grad level classes. So with my marks being great in the grad diploma (3.6 on a 4.3 scale = A-), and my undergrad gpa (3.0 on a 4.5 scale = B),.

I know I have 1 dominant work reference, and my school references are pretty good to, from recent profs.

I have a few years of work in pharmaceutcials/biotech.

I am curious to see how schools like DeGroot, Ryerson and other Canadian MBA would view my application.

My Main concern is on GMAT side. Should i re-write it? i will probably not do the same on AWA section. And i still think i sorta fluked out on the rest of GMAT, as I did get above expectations, at the time.

Any comments, insights or suggestions?

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:720

by uymba » Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:27 pm