Confused by GMAT math

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Confused by GMAT math

by pobinghun » Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:32 pm
Guys, I found this forum right after taking my second GMAT exam, trying to project a score combining all my best percentiles. I was really disappointed and confused after the second exam, which was 2 hours ago.

What happened was I got Quant(50, 90%)and Verbal(23, 30%) on the first try, when I happened to had a fever the day before; then I took the test a month later looking for a 720 with the knowledge that my verbal could be a lot better than just 30%. I went today and came back with a Quant(47, 73%) and Verbal(35, 74%). Do you see the problem here? Yes, the math part dropped dramatically. Regardless the fact that I am a fourth year college student with a math minor and I am from China(stereotypes are true sometimes, but failed this time), I don't understand how I did not feel any trouble finishing the math part before time ran out during my first shot but definitely stumbled today. I can tell that the two math parts I had were totally on different difficulty level. I am so confused now. Was I just really lucky the first time?