Anyone get >700 without breaking 700 on practice tests

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Hi all,

I've got my GMAT in 9 days time and have been working for the last 3 months on it. I've been doing tests for the last 3 weeks but never scored greater than 700. My range tends to be around 650 mark.

Has anyone got 700 on the real thing without ever getting 700 on practice exams.

I just don't know what I'm doing wrong. I quite bright normally - I'm a recently qualified medical doctor.

I'm beginning to think I'm never going to break the 700 barrier.

Thanks all

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members
GMAT? wrote:Hi all,

I've got my GMAT in 9 days time and have been working for the last 3 months on it. I've been doing tests for the last 3 weeks but never scored greater than 700. My range tends to be around 650 mark.

Has anyone got 700 on the real thing without ever getting 700 on practice exams.

I just don't know what I'm doing wrong. I quite bright normally - I'm a recently qualified medical doctor.

I'm beginning to think I'm never going to break the 700 barrier.

Thanks all
I have heard of people scoring a 700+, despite never reaching that score in practice tests.

Can you tell us what practice test material you have been using? The material makes a big difference. For example, if you are scoring 650s consistently in Kaplan tests, then you are in really good shape of getting a 700+ on the real exam. If you have been getting 650s in GMATPrep (the most accurate simulation of the real GMAT), then you should probably expect a score around 650.

Just know, however, that you are within striking distance of your goal. Be smart about your studies for your remaining week and go into your test confidently--you CAN reach your goal!

Best of luck!
Beat The GMAT | The MBA Social Network
Community Management Team

Research Top GMAT Prep Courses:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/gmat-prep-courses

Research The World's Top MBA Programs: