Any advice on MBA life for a Mother?

Talk to current MBA students about life in MBA programs (not for app advice/discussion)
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Any advice on MBA life for a Mother?

by Obsessed » Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:11 pm
I am a married Hispanic Female.
Age 31.
BA from UCSB in Geography GPA 3.4
MS from Montana State in Land Resources Environmental Science GPA 3.4
Work Experience 3 Yr
2 Children!

I am interested in an MBA preferably from McCombs at UT Austin. But I am wondering in there are any married people with small children who can give advice as to how they deal with the many functions of school. Also I am just beginning studying for the test so I am looking to apply for Fall 2013 or 2013.

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:6 members

by MiroKaz » Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:33 am
I'm not a parent myself, but several of my friends have had children while in business school.

Business school tests relationships and kids are just one more variable in that.

On the upside
  • Your schedule of classes will be fixed and predictable to allow for easier child care
    You can really adjust your level of commitment to school based on the priorities in your life. If kids are a priority, there's no rule that says you can't skip plenty of social events
    Skype makes teleconferencing basically free once you have a laptop with a camera and Google Docs makes live collaboration easy too

On the downside
  • There isn't much flexibility to miss classes
    Your team-mates in group projects won't be thrilled with the inflexibility in your schedule
    B-School will demand alot of your life and your mental energy.