ADVICE NEEDED !!`

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

ADVICE NEEDED !!`

by rajendran.kartik » Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:39 am
Hi guys ,

Just gave my GMAT two days back , got a 760(Q-51 , V-41).

Have a few questions about my applications , anyone in the know or alumni pls help me out :

1. Is a high score (presume mine is high) a downer - as in , ive heard that people with high scores are regarded as geeks and therefore people with high scores 760 and above are frequently rejected. Hopefully this is just a myth ????

2. My background is asf :- 7 years work ex as an officer on board a ship(seafarer) with 2 years as senior management. 1 year part time work ( while on leave ) with an Environmental Consultancy / Initiatives organisation focussing on waste management and rain water harvesting and have spent the last 6 months as QA manager with a company involved in Ship Simulations and Training.
Master's License in Shipping &
Bachelor's in English Literature.

I'M AIMING FOR A PLACE AT ANY ONE OF THE TOP TEN INSTITUTES IN THE WORLD, PRIMARILY IN HARVARD , LBS AND INSEAD.
Is this a far cry or is it do-able.

3. Any other tips/guidance to further my applications would be gratefully accepted.

4. What are the chances of getting a scholarship and how should i go about it.

Until now was focussing solely on the GMAT , so at present am clueless about the above.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys and Best of Luck to all of you out there.

Legendary Member
Followed by:14 members

by aim-wsc » Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:24 am
1. If you're a geek, then you'll be regarded as a geek. If you're NOT a geek, prove adcom so. You get very good opportunity & plenty of room in your essays.
I think you've fantastic score.
I would do some research about my desired b-school programs especially their application essays. As they eats of lot of your time for brainstorming.