Admission to the Harvard Business School

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Admission to the Harvard Business School

by Fred_Jackson » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:28 am
Hello - I would really appreciate other opinions on whether I would have a shot at being accepted into HBS.

GMAT - 690
Undergrad GPA - 3.77 (from the University of Florida)
Grad GPA - 3.3 (received my Master of Accountancy also from UF)

I am a Certified Public Accountant and currently work for a big 4 accounting firm. I will be promoted to manager in a few months (five years work experience) and have had various experiences working on Fortune 500 companies throughout my career, such as working on an IPO and other large debt transactions. I also was selected to do an international rotation in Europe to serve as the US GAAP expert at another large client. I also compete in full triathlons and volunteer at a few nonprofits.

Any insight would be appreciated! What am I missing most?

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by adelhelm » Tue Aug 27, 2013 2:46 pm
I think you should #1 focus on improving your GMAT score. You are well below the average at HBS and similar top 10 schools now. Improve extra-curriculars to demonstrate leadership. Perhaps take classes and earn A's now to demonstrate that you are strong academically despite a low graduate school GPA and attending U of F.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by InterviewBay2 » Tue Sep 03, 2013 3:11 am
You have a below average score but your undergrad GPA is decent. I think you would be able to make up for your low score.
You have an appreciable work experience. This is your star selling point. Highlight your leadership and team skills through it. Explain about your accelerated growth rate in the organization, and any awards won by you from your employers.