750 - 49Q/42V

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

750 - 49Q/42V

by IceCubes » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:25 pm
This is my first post since I joined BTG almost a year back. I have read so many useful posts/articles on this website that I felt obligated to give something back. I hope someone finds this useful.

I am a working professional and my work takes almost 10-12 hours of my weekdays (and sometimes weekends too!). I had been thinking about taking the GMAT for a long time but did not want to take a vacation just to prepare for it. So it took almost 6 months of on and off preparation. I finally took GMAT a few days back and scored 750. Below a quick debrief and a few tips/tricks that I think helped me improve my score by 20 - 30 points.

Verbal
I am not a native english speaker so SC was a major hurdle. I scored well in CR and RC from the 1st mock I took. For SC, I started with getting the basics right from the OG and Manhattan SC. After that I practiced SC from GMAT verbal review. Analyzing GMAT verbal review helped me identify the gaps in my logic. At the same time I kept practicing CR and RC (10-12 questions as often as possible).

OG - Nothing to say, its a must (I did all the questions twice)
Manhattan SC - Awesome book ! All the SC concepts are organized very well. I think it helps if the OG questions at the end of each chapter are done and analysed right after reading the chapter. It reinforces all the concepts and helps in remembering them longer.
GMAT Verbal Review - Another great book for people like me who need additional practice. I did not do it but I think it will be really helpful to do it in tandem with Manhattan SC.