740 (Q50, V40) -- About 30 Day Prep

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members

740 (Q50, V40) -- About 30 Day Prep

by kodakfan » Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:48 am
Hello! I have just finished my GMATs today so AWA and IR scores are not out yet. I discovered this online community about two weeks ago and found it supremely helpful, especially as a support system. Even though I have never actively posted, it was really insightful reading other people's posts about their successes, tips, and advice. Since I feel I've gleaned a lot from other people's posts, I wanted to share my own experience.

ABOUT ME
------
I'm an American student who just finished her undergraduate at a Top 5 college. Undergraduate major was Applied Math/Econ.

PREPARATION:
------
Time : About 30-31 days; Week 1-3 Review, Week 4 Practice Tests

Books :
1) OG, Ed. 13 -- This was the most cumulative and thorough book. The diagnostic helped me pinpoint my weaknesses and also the very extensive (although dense) chapters gave me a really good review of things. It is quite a bit dense though so I found it helpful to post-it note important sections and also make flashcards on the side. I also used the extra 50 IR questions and found the real GMAT problems to be pretty similiar.

2) MGMAT Series (SC, Advanced Quant) -- Based on online Amazon reviews and also other BTG members, I decide to go for the MGMAT series of books. I bought the SC and Advanced Quant and both were very engaging and also easy-to-follow. Advanced Quant is highly recommended for those who want to perform 700+.

3) Veritas Prep (Sentence Correction) -- It was only good for extra prep; not a lot of strategies just a set of 125 + questions and thorough answers. The explainations did help me catch mistakes though
------
Test Strategy/Tips :