710 Gmatprep but 540 in official GMAT (in just 1 week)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:2 members
Just brief intro: I am from pune, India. Qualifications: Mech Engg from Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee+ 3 yrs exp in an Automotive firm, India.

I gave my official GMAT on Oct 21st 2011 in Pune, India. I was so shocked to see score of 540(Q46, V20).
It may happen so if you are a beginner or you did not do enough Gmat materials. However, it is not the case. I started my Prep in Jan 2011.
I studied regularly for about 2 hours daily. These are the books I have finished studying so far.
1)Mgmat SC 4th Ed(3 times)
2)Powerscore CR bible
3)Kaplan Premium
4)Quant 700-800 questions
5)OG12
6)Verbal review
7)Kaplan 800

As I am an IIT student, I never had any serious problem with Gmat Quant. I improved myself gradually. I got 510 in gmatprep in January when I did not even know A,b,c,d of Gmat.I used to score in the range of 600 in the month of May. I reached 700 mark in September.
These were my scores in various exams just before 1 month of Gmat exam.
Gmat Prep: 710(q49, V38), 650(Q49, V30)
Mgmat: 640(q48, v32), 670(q49, v34)
800Score Gmat: 680(Q44, v38), 730(q49, v40)

I am so clueless on what went wrong on actual exam day. I had good sleep on that night. I did not panic. It just appeared to me as if I was writing just another GmatPrep exam.
I could finish quant 2 mins.
In verbal, I reached upto 31st question. I marked all questions D for the later questions. But I solved and marked SC ones in last 10 of verbal questions.