700 (Q47/V39/IR7) - Advice Please!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

700 (Q47/V39/IR7) - Advice Please!

by KenanGarrett » Sat Apr 30, 2016 11:54 am
Greetings Beat the GMAT members! I've always read peoples' stories, and have looked forward to posting my own. I just left the testing center, wherein I received my unofficial report with the above breakdown: Q47, V39, IR7, putting me in the 89th percentile with a 700.

I'm now in a predicament. I want to be admitted to Harvard or Stanford, with UCLA Anderson as a backup. Obviously 720/730 is a median score at H/S, so I'm slightly below. Does the community believe I should invest the time to boost my score?

At Oregon State University I graduated in 2011 with an Honors Bachelors of Chemistry (4.0 GPA). I was the first student in over fifteen years to finish with that major and GPA.

Three days after graduating, I moved to Hollywood and became an actor. It has been an incredible entrepreneurial experience, having myself be the product that I am developing. Currently I'm the face of Lay's chips, I've been on Days of Our Lives, My Crazy Ex, The Ellen Show (where I performed a piano piece while hula-hooping blindfolded), and a few other national commercials. So, within just a few years I became a top 10% earner in the actor's union. I've landed Mandarin speaking roles, too (as Mandarin is my second language, but I could become more fluent honestly). On the side I run a tutoring company and also co-own a startup indie soundstage (a 4,000 sq. ft. production facility), as an outlet to balance my artistic and business endeavors.

Needless to say, I'm a wildcard candidate.