700 practice to 550 GMAT casts serious doubt on my V ability

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members
All -

from the title, you might have realized that i am still immersed into the GMAT fever. i know that this is not the usual motivational 700+ or 99%-tile story that you normally see in the Forums and beat the gmat twitter feeds. yet, i am writing this debrief because i have learned a lot from beat the gmat lately (thanks to eric for this community) and because i want to share how much effort has gone into training and pursuing the right study materials.

first of all, a little about myself: i am from an engineering background and hold a master's degree from an ivy league university in the us. i work in the wireless industry but i am considering a career change. last year in may i decided that i want to go to b-school and thus, started practicing for my gmat.

my 1st gmat practice score was 260!

i was disappointed, unprepared and in a very disturbed state of mind. so i took a kaplan class to learn the strategies. my math score shot to 49, while verbal was very weak since 'm a non-native speaker. i lost touch with studies and then got back again in october (had to take another kaplan class). after few practice tests i took my 1st gmat:

[october 2009]
Kaplan 1 650 V24 Q50
Kaplan 2 680 V25 Q53
Kaplan 3 700 V27 Q55 (Only 1 math question wrong out of 37)
04 nov 2009 GMAT1 590 V23 Q48 AWA5.0

i was very disappointed and thought kaplan's tests are skewed, so reverted to mgmat. i bought their entire verbal set of SC, CR, and RC along with practice cats. i went to mgmat center in new york several times to practice by myself and following is what i scored:

[dec 2009]
Mgmat1 430 V09 Q49 -- 1st time always low whenever i pick up studies
Mgmat2 610 V27 Q49
Mgmat3 650 V32 Q48