700 on GMAT and I'm 19 :)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:700

700 on GMAT and I'm 19 :)

by aikomidori » Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:42 pm
Hey Everyone :)

I just took the GMAT today and scored a 700 (48Q, 38V) and AWA 6/6 :D. I studied during my winter break (a bit more than a month) and improved by 60 points (my first diagnostic test score was a 640).

I wasn't born in the US, but I moved here when I was eight, so close enough :P I'm currently a sophomore in college doing a BS in biochemistry and because I entered college with so many credits, I have the opportunity to graduate with a BS and an MBA at the same time - so hey I tried it ;)

Honestly, I did not spend a lot of money on GMAT prep tools. I don't think that everyone could get away with that and what I did was very risky, so unless you have confidence in yourself, don't do it! :oops:

Practice Exam Scores - I don't have the detailed version, just the general score
[*] GMAT Prep1, no essay - took it cold - 640 (Q44, V35)
[*] GMAT Prep2, no essay - took after a bit of review - 670 (Q45, V30-something)
[*] GMAT Prep2, no essay - 680
[*] Princeton Review, no essay - the free test - 690
[*] Manhattan Review, with essay - the free test - 650 (Q46, V33)
[*] GMAT Prep1, no essay - 730 :D

I think my last GMAT practice test score was probably inflated because I recognized one of the passages and probably recognized a whole lot more, just I don't remember :oops:

These were the study materials I used:
[*]12th edition, official guide
[*]2nd edition, official guide quantitative review
[*]downloaded an online version of Verbal Guide Review
[*]downloaded the old version of the Manhattan GMAT sentence correction
[*]downloaded 11th edition of official guide