690 (Q48, V37) - debrief on my test experience

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hi,
I took the GMAT exam today and scored 690(90th percentile).
Total score 690
Q 48 (85th percentile)
V 82 (82nd percentile)

Eric, Stacey and all the other wonderful folks on this forum, a big THANK YOU! This would not have been possible without your help!

I am happy with this score as it is more than what I had scored in any of my practice tests. I have 9 years of industry experience. So, I am hopeful that this score is reasonable evidence of my academic capabilities for the MBA degree.

I will write more details on my preparation later. I have provided some highlights of my test experience( before I forget the details).

Test time: Noon
This was great as I am not an early morning person.

Test Center:
Excellent. I think one reason I scored more than in my practice tests is because the Test Center setup was so much better than my setup during the practice tests(usually in a noisy bookstore or at home with my toddler son screaming in the background :) )

The Test SW interface is identical to that GMATPrep.

10 minutes to review the instructions.

1 minute to review the specific question for Esssays(i think)
=> i used this time to write the pace setting info for Quant:
T 75 65 55 45 ...
Q 1 5 10 15 ....

Essays:
AWA first. AOI next. Straightforward topics.

10 minute break.
Had a cookie and water

Quant
On the first problem, I took 3 minutes. It was an algebra problem, where I used backsolving. The rest of the section seemed ok. I thought i was fallling behind in terms of time. So I had to accelerate during the last 20 minutes. Overall, i held my nerve, which I think is the KEY. I thought I had done ok in the section, nothing spectacular.

10 minute break
Had a cookie and water