690 from Dubai

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:690

690 from Dubai

by Jiujitsu_Warrior » Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:28 am
I took the test yesterday on May 31 here in Dubai. I got 690 (Q43 and V41). I am very happy with my score and I don't fret that I missed the 700 target by some 10 points. Now, I look forward to work on other parts of my application partly because it gets so hot here in Dubai during summer :)

I am shooting for US top 10 plus LBS.

My background:
- I am 28 years old
- From Kyrgyzstan (central asian republic)
- 1 year at a ME private equity shop
- 3 years in corporate development at a prominent ME retail conglomerate
- Speak Russian, English languages

Overall, I studied for 4 months with an average of 2-3 hours during workdays and 8 hours (with breaks) during weekends. Quant was my weak point so I mainly focused on it. Verbal, even though I am not a native English speaker, came easier to me. I used OG11, Kaplan Online Premier Program for my prep. On my practice tests, only once I scored a 700 on Kaplan. My average practice tests were around 650. A day before the test, I scored 610 on Kaplan which almost made me panic. But I pulled myself together and went into the test with high confidence. The actual test was quite easier than expected, especially the quant portion. I answered every single question on both quant and verbal. Couple RC passages were quite difficult. Altogether, the actual test was very similar to GMATPrep so I suggest to take as many as of these as you can even if your score will eventually be diluted.