610 -> 560 -> 700: Third Time's the Charm

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

610 -> 560 -> 700: Third Time's the Charm

by MBALA2009 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:07 pm
I've had quite the experience with my GMAT and wanted to share it with those who might be struggling with it because lord knows that I have!

I took the GMAT for my third time this past Saturday and scored a 700 (Q44, V42).

By way of background, I'm a practicing corporate lawyer in one of Canada's largest corporate law firms. Working hours are pretty brutal, which is one of the reasons I wanted to apply to bschool, and this meant that one of my biggest challenges was finding the time to study. Below is a breakdown of what I went through:

1) May 3, 2008 - 610
One of the reasons I became a lawyer is because of my strong aversion to math. Math was always hard for me. So in light of this, along with the fact that it's been over 10 years since I did any math, decided to take a prep course. I decided on Kaplan. Others might feel differently, but I wasn't a big fan: i) found the curriculum too jammed, and felt it tried to cover too much per class; ii) the Kaplan CATs were not indicative of the real thing; and iii) you really had to spend time on the 'homework' which contained many concepts not covered in class. Felt there was a disconnect between the class and homework; if one went to just the classes and took the GMAT thinking one would be fine, would have been in for a very unpleasant surprise.