530 (37q, 25v) -- Help and advice

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:530

530 (37q, 25v) -- Help and advice

by Whizpopper » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:20 am
Hello,

I have just joined this site and wrote the GMAT yesterday. I wanted to write about my experience and get the advice of others as my study has not worked or plateaued I should say.

Baground
I have been studying for the GMAT for about 4 months now and my score has greatly improved from when I first started. I have been studying for the pass 4 months using the following books and tools:
  • - OG 10
    - OG 12
    - The green and purple book from GMAC
    - Paper tests
    - GMATPrep
On the paper tests and GMATPrep have been scoring between 500 - 550. Yesterday I wrote the GMAT and received 530 (37q, 25v). This is the score that I been getting for a while and cannot seem to improve no matter how much I study.

I would like to get the advice of others, here in the forum, about how I can improve my score, especially verbal, to aim for a GMAT score of 700.

I look forward for all the advice I can get and thank you in advance.

Thanks,

George

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:68 members
GMAT Score:750

by Bryant@VeritasPrep » Fri Oct 30, 2009 11:07 am
Paper tests are generally the worst way to prep as it is so different from the actual testing environment. If you would like a lot of bang for the buck and live near a metro area, I would highly recommend a prep course where a qualified GMAT guru will guide your practice and help you prepare. It's generally touted as well worth the cost. If you cannot afford a prep course, GMAC has some pretty cheap computer based preparation materials which simulate the actual testing environment pretty well. Good luck!
Bryant Michaels
MBA Admissions Consultant