520 to +700...NEED HELP!

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:760

520 to +700...NEED HELP!

by Layman24 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:52 am
Hello,

This is my first time posting to the forum as I recently took my second full-length MGMAT CAT and was disappointed with the results. I've read some inspiring stories on this forum about individuals similar to myself (math isn't a strong suit and they had a similar diagnostic score/split) who ended up with a 700+ score and I am hopeful to mimic their success.

A little background on me might be helpful:

- I'm ~7 years removed from undergrad.
- My goal is to achieve a 700+ score (w/ min Q of 45-47) to maximize my odds of gaining admittance to a top EMBA program (Wharton, Booth, Kellogg). I want to stay with my current employer post-MBA.
- I wouldn't say math is my strong suit but I managed a 3.7 GPA as an Economics student in undergrad and am a CFA Charterholder. In addition, I work in finance so am generally dealing with numbers each day at work.
- I started studying full-time (1-2 hrs. / weekday and 4-6 hours each weekend day) about 4 months ago (Dec. of '16). Given my Q was far weaker than my V score on the initial CAT I've been focused on improving Q exclusively. I started with Foundations of Math (~1 month) and then worked my way through all of the Manhattan Q Strategy Books. After completing the books I took only the Q section of a MGMAT CAT and saw nice improvement but still not where I needed to be.
- I then purchased Magoosh (about 5 weeks ago) at the suggestion of a friend and found that I picked up additional tricks/tips that I didn't get from the Manhattan Q strategy books. I'm currently about 1 month into Magoosh's 3 month Q focused study plan.
- Today I took my second full length MGMAT CAT and am feeling defeated as my quant raw score dropped by 3 points from the prior Q only exam.

Mock Exams To Date:

MGMAT CAT #1: 520 (28Q / 34V)
MGMAT CAT #2: Quant section only (39Q)