Gmat killed me, i got a 620, i need advice from experts now

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Should i retake.

i am so dejected. my life is over. my dream to go to harvard is over.

i might as well move to eureka, montana.. no wait.. maybe swaziland or togo.. in africa.

anyway..

i got 620 38 M and 34 V

i need input from you folks...

i just want to get above 660 now.. like 40 or 50 points

what should i do?

i have 4 weeks to my retake

input will be much appreciated.

i am at the lowest point in my life.

by vanesslondon » Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:57 am
Hello, I'm really sorry to hear you so dejected.
I'm just starting out my prep, but I will say this: the GMAT is beatable. It really is.

You need to be brutally honest with yourself and ask yourself if there is anything else you can do. Have you done enough OG questions? Have you practiced strategically? It might help to do lots of each question type in one go to increase confidence.

Without knowing more about how you prepped it is hard to tell you why you haven't got your desired score, but I promise you that with more work the GMAT will not keep you from Harvard.

I know a girl who wasn't good at math and learnt it all by practising for a very long time. She went to Harvard and graduated as a Baker scholar (top5%).

Good luck!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:58 members

by ngufo » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:23 pm
Hi there buddy,
Do read my post at :

https://www.beatthegmat.com/gmat-720-95- ... t7227.html

I was at exactly the same point as you at many points during my study, but if you have a clear study path defined, and put in enough practice you should be able to nail it....

Dont give up on your dreams - just put in 300% effort in the next few weeks, am very sure you will better your scores!

Take care,
-ngufo