yet another Indian IT professional

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

yet another Indian IT professional

by kulki » Wed Apr 08, 2009 1:24 pm
Hi,
As the title says I am currently working for Microsoft developing C# compilers. I did my Under from IIT Bombay (GPA of 8.2/10). I did my masters from Stanford in CS (GPA 3.7/4.0, I know I screwed up!). I worked for a few years for a small startup company and then joined MS. I worked in Outlook team and then the C# compiler team. My job job has always been very technical in nature.
But lately few life changing events have occured in my life. 1) I got married and suddenly I feel stable and a sense of freedom to try and do something different. 2) I got my Green card so I am no longer tied to MS on H1B 3) I am now older (30) and feel a urge to do something more meaningful in life rather than merely making money. I dont think I really want to do a MBA and then join some finance company. I would rather stay at MS then and save the cost of tuition! I feel a strong urge to do something useful for the society, just not 100% certain what yet. But I do get the impression that MBA will allow me broaden my horizons, become a more well rounded individual and provide me the skills to make my small impact on the society that we live in.
Anyways I did take my GMAT last week. I got a score of 750. I am pretty satisfied with this score.
What schools do I have a reasonable shot at?
thanks
kulki
Ohh BTW I did run a small IT company of my own, but closed it because I wanted more time for myself to pursue my hobbies.

Legendary Member
Followed by:7 members

by Cindy Tokumitsu » Thu Apr 09, 2009 5:41 am
Hello,